Savage

Latest stuff

NEWSLETTER SIGNUP
Select Topics

Sunday November 1 23 2014 23:00
Martin Savage Gang - Frustration 7"
Goodbye Boozy Records
MSG really hit their stride here! Great sounding thumper of a single! Two hits with "Frustration" being the potential dancefloor filler. MSG is the moniker now used by Martin Savage where he was gonna play all those old songs that never got enough airtime from the Blacks, Dixie Buzzards, Locomotions, Humans etc but soon MSG had enough new material to last. You still get some old timey faves live though. Check them out on their US tour starting november 29th in Brooklyn.
(Thomas)

Makeouts - All About You 7"
Radio Obligato
We know the Makeouts sound by now. Happy garagerock owing some nods to the "older" sounds of the Black Lips, Jacuzzi Boys, Ty Segall.
Here they've really got two little hits and a great sound with a lot of punch. Great little 45 from our friend Radio Obligato.
(Thomas)

Sista Bussen - Andra Världskriget Två 7"
KJK/7 Inch Records/Brun Himmel

Mother of god! Crazy, fucked up, superfast and stoopid fun! Sista Bussen's sophomore EP is even better than their first. "Jag Ska Ingenstans" was a great hit but "Andra Världskriget Två" is maybe even better and coupled with "Pissar Ner Mig" on the b-side it rolls over me like a tank. These guys do everything right. The sound (recorded on reel-to-reel in their rehearsal space) and the performance is perfect. Try to keep up when they put it in 11th gear. For fans of Henry Fiat's Open Sore, Los Ass-Draggers, Angry Samoans.

(Thomas)
Tuesday November 1 26 2013 09:00

 

ANDROIDS OF MU - Blood Robots LP
Water Wing/Free Love

Originally released on Fuck Off records in 1979 this album is finally unleashed for the whole world to hear. Super cool postpunk sounds from the streets of west London circa late 70's. They were somehow associated with Hawkwind but I can't remeber where I read that at the moment. This LP contains some serious raw solid state guitar tone, love the guitar sounds. It's the aesthetic that makes you love this. It's experimental but still has catchy songs and it's all played sloppily but just good enough and with conviction. It clearly belongs to the postpunk era but still delivers both rock'n'roll and punk moves and then adds some freaky synth sounds on top. Another thing that I like about it is that it's totally free from reaggae and funk influences which a lot of bands from this time got into (read Gang of Four, Slits). Sure they do that ska guitar at times but always on the punk side of life. The inner sleeve tell the legend of the Androids of Mu. Great! Sleeve is really thick cardboard in black/white/red. Also includes lyric sheet with their amazing lyrics. How's this one for starters: "drag queen crazy scene what does it mean?". Fun, clever and good at the same time! (Martin)  

Wednesday November 1 13 2013 08:00

 
HEAVY LIDS - Gravity Reversed/This Horse 7"
Pelican Pow Wow

New one from the big easy's premiere label Pelican Pow Wow. This band features more members from Static Static (also see Smelly Tongues) as well as Detonations, Sex Hunter and Die Rotzz (see below) etc. Recorded by Quintron himself at the Spellcaster Lounge! There's two guitars, a bass and an organ all playing the same punkriff, sometimes with one guitar doing a lead thing. This amounts to some monotonous, hard driving punk. Drummer's super tight and avoiding fills att all costs. The vocals are mean. This goes for both sides of this 7" and they're both great. The sleeve is really nice in gray, black, white and red. 

 
DIE ROTZZ vs THE BASTARD SONS OF MARVIN HIRSCH EP
Go Ape Records

These guys, = Die Rotzz, have been around forever. They've even been to my house!! They're more like a 90's punk band to me. Loud and fast and lo-fi and in your face. I prefer the second song, Rott & Roll, which has a King Louie kinda twist to it. The Bastard Sons I don't know anything about but they do even more lo-fi punk that is rooted in the '77 diy aestethic with fake british accent (or maybe they are british?!). Not bad at all. And great rip-off of the Ace Records logo for all you New Orleans r'n'b enthusiasts. (Martin)

Sunday November 1 10 2013 21:00

 DESTRUCTION UNIT - Deep Trip LP
Sacred Bones

Latest from Ryan and gang and the first Destruction Unit LP I've heard with this line-up. Triple guitars, bass and pounding drums. Only heard the first single and the stuff with Jay and Alicja of Lost Sounds etc.) before. This is definitely a different band in all senses but still you can hear a kinship in the songwriteing with the earlier synt-punk ramalama. Deep trip features eight songs of spaced-out psychedelic garagepunk. There's a wall of guitars using delay and other effects and beneath all that there's usually a punkriff skeleton. There's some slow moments too and the shift from fast to slow owe a lot to metal. It's dark and the vocals are post-punk sounding and buried in the mix. It's inbetween Puffy Areolas and  Human Eye kind of to compare it to two contemporary bands. The Last song Night Lone deliver some fine Stooges riffing ala Funhouse. This album is solid through and through but my faves are the one's with Ryan's voice a bit louder like on Control the Light and the beautiful and slow Bumpy Road. It's definitely best enjoyed through headphones though so you get all the fine nuances of the noise. That is no joke. It was recorded at Vacation Island in Brooklyn and the sound is absolutely great. Don't be late. They're fuckin' brutal live so be sure to catch them if you have the chance. But get this LP first cuz you'll enjoy the show even more. (Martin)

 
DESTRUCTION UNIT - Two Strong Hits 7"
Suicide Squeeze

These two songs were supposedly recorded at the same time as the above LP and they definitely have the same sound. A-side Sonic Pearl is exactly that, a sonic pearl!. The core is a fast punk riff with guitarlayers on top. Buried in all that Ryan's vocals have a dark twist that owe a lot to Ian Curtis. B-side Nightfall follow the same formula but is even more intense with a more defined chorus. Sonic punk psychedelia. Maybe not amazing in itself but a great companion to Deep Trip. (Martin)

Monday November 1 4 2013 09:00

 

SMELLY TONGUES - Slack Heep LP
Urinal Cake

The Victim of Time website don't do many reviews anymore but when they do write about something it's not a bad idea to check it out cuz it's usually good. That's how I found out about this band supposedly featuring ex-members of the Red Aunts, Druid Perfume, Pirahnas, Static Static etc. (for the whole list go here.) It's out on Urinal Cake, a label to keep your eyes on cuz they're putting out some great stuff. To me Smelly Tongues are like an In The Red type of band the way they came late 90's and early 2000's and it's great. Like noisy indie rock type stuff (think Sonic Youth, Pussy Galore) but rooted in the raw garage circa now. They're atonal and raw with a twin guitar attack but deliver a bunch of memorable hooks too. Male and fellme trade-off vocals lift it even higher. Recorded by Monty Buckles of the Lamps fame. Oh yeah, and the bass is distorted too. Gotta go to work now. (Martin)

Friday November 1 1 2013 10:00
Friday November 1 1 2013 10:00

 
THE SLEAZE - TECKTONIK GIRLZ LP
Total Punk

I heard through the grapevine that this was supposed to be good. People were talking about it. With so many records coming out right now it's hard to know which ones to pick. Total Punk have a high quality when it comes to all their releases but they are all also steeped in the same format and that can be a bit tedious sometimes. I understand it though cuz this is ceratinaly the era of niche-ing yourself. Anyway, the Sleaze are definitely one of the satnd-out records. The fi is low but perfect for this kind of punk and an eight track 45 rpm LP is the perfect format. The Sleaze got the songs and they're smart enough not to play them too fast but what really makes this great is the singer's kind of laid back snottines and the lead guitar that delivers some awesome melodies. It doesn't bother with 1977 too much either which makes it fell like now. You get the title track in a synth-driven version as the last song. Great. (Martin) 

Thursday October 1 24 2013 10:00

TALBOT ADAMS - Red Diamonds/Not Even Europe 7"
Spacecase

Latest from Talbot Adams who's been in numerous southern rock'n'roll bands including Dutch Masters, Black & Whites, Jenny Jeans, Darkest Hours, the Preacher's Kids and even the mighty Royal Pendletons. His first solo release came out on Douchemaster in 2010 (which I haven't heard) and now here's a new one where mr Adams plays all the instruments himself. The fidelity is great and both songs have a home-made bedroom recording type feel. These are two really nice well-crafted pop songs and if pop in a home-made bedroom format is your thing you need to check it out. (Martin)

Tuesday October 1 22 2013 22:00

QUINTRON & MISS PUSSYCAT - 
Not Good Enough/Pink Panther Theme 7" WackyWacko/Rhinestone

Yes, Q and Miss P's got a new 7" out. Seems to be a co-release between Wacky Wacko and their own Rhinestone label. Sleeveless but comes in pink (panther) vinyl. A-side's the original and I must admit that it didn't grab me at first. It's kinda slow and andt I thought it wasn't much of a hit and that's the kind of thing you want on a 7" from Quintron. But with repeated listens it soon dawned on me how catchy the chorus really is and after a while you start to groove with the slow tempo. It's the kind of song where you want a video with one cool girl who walks through the neighbourhood and more and more people join her until they're a cool gang. In slow motion. Know what I mean? It's that great. The flippety-flop is a jazzy organexquisite take on the Pink Panther theme. Tada-da-da-da-da etc. I've been to two parties (one in New Orleans and one in Stockholm) where the crowd grooved to this already so you know you need it if you wanna be hip. Brah!

THE ROYAL PENDLETONS - 
First Recordings Vol 1 the 1990s 7"

Allons

Oh yeah, baby! This is supposed to be the Pendletons first recordings from '92 or '93. 20 years ago! How many times have we (thee Savage bros.) blasted the "Sore Losers" 7" and people have gone crazy. King Louie behind the drum kit. Those were the days! Even before we got onto the scene. Anyways, these recordings were thought to be destroyed, at least that's what it says on the sleeve. On the first side they do a highly spirited take of "Double Shot Of My Baby's Love" and b-side is a raw version of "What A Way To Die". The Royal Pendletons were the ultimate frat party band and I for one woldn't have mind having been at a party in an old victorian house in New Orleans in the early 90's watching the Pendletons tear it up like they do here. This is New Orleans history ladies and gentlemen! (Martin)

Monday October 1 21 2013 10:00


THE GREAT UNWASHED - Clean Out Of Our Minds LP
Exiled

This one came out a while ago. David and Hamish Kilgour who were in the Clean recorded this right after the Clean broke up the first time in 1983. That's what the sticker on the front says. It also says it's a four-track bedroom psych-pop masterpiece. I guess that means it wasn't recorded in a proper studio but in someone's home (says it was recorded at Helen Kilgour's house). Most of the Savage-readers are probably familiar with the Clean I would guess, and if not it's easy to google them and know everything in five minutes so I won't get into that. The description on the sticker is pretty spot on however with the emphasis on pop because what this really is is a great pop album even though there definitely are some psych influences. The bedroom four-track label might put people off thinking it's some lo-fi stuff but the fidelity really is great and the home-made feel suits it perfectly. The sound, songs and sleeve (especially the back) on this album are just perfect and makes you wanna just go out and get a four-track and record something like this yourself. In my world that's the greatest thing, a record that inspires you to do something yourself. B-side has the hits "What You Should Be Now" and "Hold Onto The Rail". Beautiful. (Martin)

Friday October 1 18 2013 08:00

POPPETS - Steal It Like A Thief LP
Fdh
I saw this tv-show yesterday with a bunch of famous Swedish artists who talked about how to mature musically when you get older. That's a stupid cocept to me because usually it means getting softer and having acoustic guitar. Oh, they got a more mature sound on this album... But think about all them old blues guys who are 80 years old and play really primitive stuff. Aren't they mature? What I'm trying to say is that there must be other ways to be mature than to have a clean sound and acoustic guitars on your second or third album. 
    Poppets don't have any acoustic guitars on their second album but I think they have matured a tiny bit and done it in a good way. They still have the same low fidelity and write the same kind of songs but the big difference here is they write better songs with better hooks. Total sugar pop lo-fi explosion! The LP plays on 45 rpm and there's 9 songs. Perfect for a band like Poppets. Favorite tracks are "Steal It Like A Thief" with it's Modern Lovers-esque organ solo. This is a hit! "Doomed City" is a ballad of sorts and it's real pretty. I'm gald they slowed down their songs a bit, it suits them well. Nice sleeve too. (Martin)

Thursday October 1 17 2013 08:00

NOTS - s/t 7" EP
Goner
New Memphis band that ripped it up at the Buccaneer after-party at this year's Gonerfest. Members are also in Ex-Cult, Manatees and Moving Finger (see below). Four raw slabs of noisy punkrock with just the right amount of 1977, 1979 and 2013. Kind of repetetive with a driving bass, primal tom tom drumming and the recording has the right fidelity. Really glad Goner is putting out 7"s with new Memphis bands. They always serve great raw vinyl steaks at their bbqs and this one is no exception.

MOVING FINGER - s/t 7"
Goner

More new Memphis raw-assed rock'n'roll. A-side serve up two punkers with a psych-twist. "Smokin The Crack Of Dawn" is the hit with it's slow creepy repetetive riff and Persuaders-style solo guitar moves. The other track P.O.W./M.I.A. is just shorter and faster. B-side is one long fucked-up tune that's got delay freak-outs. Kinda like if the Persuaders decided to go psychedelic. I think that's a fucked-up trumpet too. It's got everything this one! Members are also in Ex-cult and Nots.

EX-CULT - Mister Fantasy/ Through The Blinds 7"
Goner

Ex.Cult were fuckin' great and tight as hell at Gonerfest. Hope they can get to Europe and Sweden soon. First 7" after their well-recieved debut LP. Fans won't be dissapointed with this new one. To me Ex-Cults sound can be described as a garage/punk backbone with a layer of post-punk, some noisy elements and a singer coming straight outta the hardcore backyard (the good kind). "Mister Fantasy" is faster but my favorite this time is the slow and kinda creepy "Through The Blinds". The lyrics are printed on the sleeve so you can sing along to these two hits. Recorded by Doug Easley. (Martin)

Wednesday October 1 16 2013 08:00

BUCK BILOXI AND THE FUCKS -
Holodeck Survivor/Not Getting Stabbed 7" (Total Punk)

Sloppy punk from New Orleans. How can you pass on that? Buck and the boys do that sloppy thing really well. The a-side come really close to the first Persuaders 7" (Y'know the one with Hot Stix etc.) and that's one of my all-time faves. Raunchy, sloppy and not too fast punkrock. B-side is not as hot but still a winner. I think Holodeck Survivor might be my favorite Buck Biloxi track thus far. 

BUCK BILOXI AND THE FUCKS - Shithole Boys/Tea Party split w/ GIORGIO MURDERER - Theme From Star Trek/I Need My Shit (Holotrash)
Buck Biloxi deliver two new turds and don't stray far from their formula. Actually they don't even move an inch and instead pee and puke exactly where they stand. Is that good? Yeah, of course it it is. Total regression. Not as hot as the Total Punk 7" but if you like 'em you won't get dissapointed. 
     Giorgio Murderer (what a great name!) deliver two dumb synthinfused sloppy lo-fi punkers. If you even thought about buying this 7" in the first place you won't get dissapointed however if you're only gonna buy one Buck Biloxi 7" this year (and how stupid is that!) I would go for the Total Punk one. (Martin)

Monday October 1 14 2013 11:00

KING KHAN & THE SHRINES - Idle No More LP
Merge Records

It's been a while (6 years I think) since the Shrines put out their last album. To be honest, even though I'm a huge fan of the band as a live act, I haven't cared too much for their records since that amazing debut partyalbum on Voodoo Rhythm "Three Hairs and You're Mine". On that album they created an amazing mix of soul and garagerock blended just right with a good amount of frenzy. After that they ventured a bit into funk and psychadelia which didn't impress me too much. Now they're back again in 2013 with an album on the relatively big Merge Records. 
     "Idle No More" takes it's cues from the 60's in various shapes and upon first listen you realise they really took their time writing good songs. As a whole this album's real solid and in some ways it reminds me of the Black Lips latest album "Arabia Mountain". Solid well-produced garage rock. You can tell they had a bigger budget recording it. It really has a soft kind of sound but it works well. There's a couple of light-psychedelic garage songs, some more rooted in soul. The ones that I think work best are the ballads with "Pray For Lil" as my fave one. This is a nice little album that'll get you in a good mood. (Martin)

Friday February 1 15 2013 01:00

REVIEWS FEBRUARY 15 2013

ELECTRIC EELS - Agitated 7” (Agitated Records)
Yes, finally a repress of this fantastic classic! “Agitated” is so backwards, and angry and amazing. This belongs in everyone’s collection. A true masterpiece. Agitated (the label) has done a great job too, looks and plays great! (Thomas)

F.U.2 –Punk Rock LP (1-2-3-4 Go!) So the story goes that this guy called Terry Clemson put together a studioband to record a punk LP probably around 1977 or thereabouts under the name of F.U.2  and enlisted some members from the Downliners Sect. Through the years people have called it the secret Sect album however as Clemson states in the liners, it never was. Anyway, a description like the Downliners Sect writing punkrock songs and playing punkrock is not really far off the mark. Really simple punk riffs but riffs that are definitely grounded in the 60’s and the harp really adds some spice. Elements of the album also have a feel of modern garage rock. Maybe it’s that mix of the 60’s and 70’s sounds. ”Mean Evil Child” is my favorite but this album is fun and solid. ”I’m born to be wild cuz I’m a mean evil child” kinda says it all really. (Martin)

GINO & THE GOONS - S/t 12” (SunWray Records)Incredibly charming and backwardsthinking lo-fidelity garagepunk! Think Supercharger and you’re close. Impossible to not like, good songs and great sound! Limited to 300 copies so act fast! (Thomas)

GOLDEN PELICANS - S/t 7” (Total Punk)
Great garagerock with tons of energy and nice hooks. “Jump in a lake” is a hit! Think this is Rich who does Total Punk’s band. Check ‘em out I’m pretty sure you won’t be sorry if you like raw-sounding, pummeling punkrock. (Thomas)

HANK WOOD & THE HAMMERHEADS - S/t LP (Toxic State)
Fantastic LP of what is now said to be a defunct band (but one listed show in NYC in April, so there might be a chance!) Hard to describe their sound, kinda like Black Flag but covered by Teengenerate.. I dunno! It’s fucking great is what it is. Must not be passed by! (Thomas)

HANK WOOD AND THE HAMMERHEADS – Go Home LP (Toxic State)This LP was on a lot of best of 2012 lists from the Terminal Boredom staff so I got a bit curious. I listened to a track on the ’net but it didn’t really get me going and I didn’t think I’d really like it cuz I haven’t been getting off on that kind of punk lately. Like that Video LP for example. I never could get really into it. Anyway, my brotha played me a track from the LP which I liked so I bought it anyway and boy, is this great!. The only way to describe it is that it’s hardcore for garagepunks. Totally sparse tough lyrics that are delivered with a snotty and still a don’t-take-it-too-seriously attitude. 10 songs that spin on 45 rpms. Short records rule and also sleeves that aren’t printed on the glossy side. You also get a poster. Great package, great songs, great band, great record! They kinda make New York feel tough again and that’s quite a feat!!  (Martin)

NATURAL CHILD – Hard In Heaven LP (Burger)Ouch! This album’s pretty great. These three guys from Nashville or thereabouts got the boogie. Total Creedence, Rolling Stones worship but still coming out of the garage in a great way. They got the chops that’s for sure cuz they play just the right amount of notes to keep things good. In some way I feel this is related to the Clap album in vibe or maybe the Neckbones to name a moder band. There’s only nine songs on this LP but that’s not too much and just enough to keep it interesting all the way through. A couple of rockers, a few slow numbers, a soul-infected stomper and to top it all off a fantastic country rambler in the best Gram Parson style. And they have that snotty, good-time, respectless (in a good way) relation to their influences which keeps this punk in spirit. The sound is perfect too.  I love it! (Martin)

PAINT FUMES - Uck Life LP (Slovenly)It's been said that these guys are going for a 90's vibe a'la the Crypt sound I guess.. They do it pretty good too, production and soundwise this is cool. What's lacking a little is the songwriting. This album is leaps and bounds better than their debut 7" though, so they're definitely going in the right direction. Thinking this is a little more Demon's Claws in vibe this time, which is always cool. For fans of the aforementioned bands and lofi punkrock in general. (Thomas)

TACO LEG - Printed Gold 7” (Richie Records)
Been hearing good stuff about these Aussies and this sounds pretty damn cool. Weird, off-kilter and cool. Much like locals like UV Race for example. On Richie so you know it’s sell out sooner rather than later. (Thomas)

Tuesday January 1 15 2013 14:00

REVIEWS January 15 2013

 
AAA THE NEW MEMPHIS LEGS - S/t LP (Goner)

Back in the early 00’s I was dying to hear this band. All you could get was one track on a split 7” from a magazine called Pinball if I remeber correctly. To have James Arthur (then ex-Fireworks, Necesarry Evils), Eric Oblivian (well, you know) and Forrest Hewes (Neckbones) in the same band was something that could not go wrong to me. Why these recordings never came out at the time I have no idea because this is great stuff. Reminds me a bit of the Bad Times LP (Eric, Jay and Louie) but with a notch better (and just perfect) fidelity. They cover some Australian garage punkers but they mix well with the originals. Didn’t realise I miss this kind of music but I do. Raw, noisey garage punk without bass of course!  Also really like the format of nine tracks on a 45 rpm LP. It’s just enough for a band like the Legs and it makes it real loud. Great sleeve too. Definitely one you should get. (Martin)

 
A BURNING BUS - Anti b/w Paranoia Paradise 7” (Harvest)

Don (Bassholes, Gibson Bros) Howland’s back with a new version of his old outfit Burning Bush and man is he inspired. “Anti” is a scuzzfest that doesn’t let up for 5 minutes and “Paranoia Paradise” (written by Wayne County) is a fast punker that fits the band perfectly. Hightly recommended! (Thomas)

 
AMERICAN SUN - American Sun/Poor Girl
b/w Indian Morning 7” (Self-released)

Bought this from SS Records some time ago and I figured a self-released 7” like this needs any exposure it can get. Forgot to listen to it for a while but now that it’s back at my turntable I realise it’s pretty great. Slow and moody garage rock indebted to Dead Moon with a bit of a 90’s alternative feel as well. They seem to be from New York. Great sound. (Martin)

 
BARBARAS - 2006-2008 LP (Goner)

Shortlived Memphis all-star band whose members went on to be in Jay Reatard's band, the Magic Kids and the Boston Chinks. They only did one 7", which is included here, and which is prolly their best but this whole album is nice and it's nice to finally have it out. Great garagepop, some great songs some okay stuff but overall a really nice alb. I really dig it. (Thomas)


BLACK LIPS - Live at Third Man LP (Third Man)

Lots of new songs off their latest, and pretty good, album in really nice livesound. If you’ve seen the Black Lips live you know how they sound and this is pretty close to being there, you can just pretend they’re playing in another room. Anyways, they’re a great liveband and of course they should have some livealbums out. Wouldn’t say this is necessary but it’s nice. (Thomas)

 
CHEATER SLICKS - Reality Is a Grape LP
(Columbus Discount)

Oomph! What a way to knock it out of the park, record of the year? I think it might be.. At least songs of the year in “Hold On to Your Soul” which really struck home with me, and “Current Reflection”. Thank you! (Thomas)

 
DANCER - S/t 7” (Daggerman Records)

Good thing I didn’t hold my breath waiting for something new from any ex-Box Elders cause that sure took it’s time, but here’s a lifesign in the form of Jeremiah and Dancer. Hits all the right notes from start to finish, especially “On the Run”. Don’t sleep on this! (Thomas)


DANNY and the DARLEANS - Don’t Ask The Qustion b/w You’re Driving Me Insane 7” (Nero’s Neptune)

Hup! It’s Dan Kroha of the Gories and Demolition Doll Rods!! New records by Cheater Slicks, Don Howland, Dan Kroha and soon the Oblivians… What’s going on?! Mr Kroha’s new outfit is a real nice garage trio with bass, guitar and drums. Two covers on this one. A-side’s by someone named Powell (tried to google it but only got hits on Collin Powell!) and b-sides’s a pre-Velvets Lou Reed number. Danny’s got his snotty nasal voice intact and the Darleans dish out som danceable garage rhythms. It’s good. (Martin)

 
DRUID PERFUME - S/t LP (Urinal Cake Records)

This has been out for  long time now but I just think this band is so overlooked I’m gonna review it anyway. Unfortunately I think this is their last release and that they already called it quits. Druid Perfume are from the Detroit area and feature ex-members of the Pirahnas and this is their third LP. They play jazz-punk, sax-punk or we might just as well call it skronk-punk. A lot of saxophone and twisted rhythms that are definitely jazz influenced. Captain Beefheart, I would guess, is a heavy influence for this band but it’s definitely punk in feel. Once you make it through all the skronkiness it’s also damn catchy. The overall sound of this and especially the vocals is definitely an aquired taste but if you make it through to the other side there’s a great reward for you! Would have been great to see them live. (Martin)

ex-cult
EX-CULT - S/t LP (Goner Records)

Very nice, the a-side’s blowing me away but kudos to a pretty good b-side too. These guys didn’t surprise me this much live or on previous releases (as Sex Cult). Can’t wait to give them another shot live! Good work Ty Segall on production! (Thomas)

 
FIGURES OF LIGHT - Drop Dead CD (Norton Records)

The world found out about the Figures Of Light a few years ago when Norton reissued their debut 7” from 1972. A proto-punk garage gem that had been hidden from the world for ages. Then the band released a whole LP with material including that first 7”, some other vintage recordings  mixed with new stuff. I’m sure there were more people than me who didn’t believe the new stuff would cut it but it actually sounded great and not at all different from the 70’s recordings. So now, here’s the first album with all new recordings and it’s definitely a more cohesive record than the first one. Produced by Mick Collins (Gories, Dirtbombs) and the band is backed up by Collins och guitar, Miriam Linna (Cramps, A-bones) on drums and Marcus ”The Carcass”  Natale on bass. The team crank out some really cool primitive garage punk. Mick Collins gets the sound just right and his guitar really lift the songs. The Figures Of Light really know what was good about their music in the first place and don’t try to complicate things that are best left simple and primal. The stanout track to me is definitely ”World Of Pain” where they get a nasty repetitious Cheater Slicks vibe going. My only complaints is that sometimes the songs tend to drag out for a bit too long and they could have easily skipped a couple of tracks to get a more solid whole I think. That’s just small stuff though because it’s a really good album and people who dig that primal garage thud should definitely check it out. (Martin)

 
THE HAPPY THOUGHTS - S/t LP (HoZac Records)

This is about half a year old by now but it’s good enough to remind you about it. The Happy Thoughts used to be Eric and the Happy Thoughts and released some 7”s and tapes and these songs were on those releases albeit in different recordings I think. The Happy Thoughts play minimalist pop music in a garage setting. Drums, bass, a cheesy and scrappy japanese-sounding guitar and witty, smart down-to-earth lyrics. That’s all they need because they write great songs and the fragility of the whole thing just adds to the charm. It’s really no point in picking out any certain songs because it’s pretty much like a collection of hits. When I got it I played it for a week straight and then totally forgot about it for a while but everytime I put it on it makes me happy. Just like a great pop record. (Martin)

 
LAMPS - Under the Ground, Under the Water LP
(In the Red Records)

What a party these guys throw! Been waiting a while for this, their 3rd LP and it’s gotta be their best yet. Fucking dangerous and loud and wild and just lovable! Shit, this thing is unbelievable! Get this! (Thomas)

 
PUFFY AREOLAS - 1982: Dishonorable Discharge LP (HoZac)

Puffy Areolas are back and this time on HoZac out of Chicago (last one was on Siltbreeze). They’ve also got a new drummer which is one of my favorite drummers Bim Thomas (Bassholes, Obnox). His trademark style is all over this LP! The Areolas choice of punk sound like a noisey take on early harcore mixed with garage noise and stomped in a repetitive hazy fury. Yes, a bit of psychedelics thrown in as well as some Stooges ”Funhouse” somewhere. It might be an aquired taste but i really like it. Love the saxophone skronk on ”Funk Your Head Up”. This album is really cohesive and a great buy so if you think you might like it go out and get it! (Martin)


REISSUES

 
PSYCHOSURGEONS - Horizontal Action 7”  (Crypt Records)

Great to see Crypt jumping on the 70’s punk reissue train, especially when it’s this great. Like Razar this is a mush have so just make sure to get it! Sweet, amazing punkrock from down under. (Thomas)

 
RAZAR - Stamp Out Disco 7” (Sing Sing Records)

It’s been a great year for reissues where Sing Sing sure did their part, now if we could only get more stuff like this and less powerpop. Razar is essential listening! Great fucking punkrock! (Thomas)

 
THE SCIENTISTS - E.P. (Agitated)

Agitated Records is sneaking up from behind and they’re putting out some cool reissues. This time it’s the second 7” from Australias the Scientists (they also did their first but it’s out of print) and it’s an EP with four songs. This was before the Scientists went into the swamp when they did raw, poppy and catchy garage-music. Maybe a bit like the Real Kids with the sound of the Saints but there’s also som Thunders-sounds as well as a bit of an 80s garage feel. Originally it came out in 1979 and has been reissued on other formats a few times. I love this! ”Last Night” starts the EP and it’s a super catchy number which is followed by the stonsey ”Bet Ya Lyin”. ”It’s For Real” and ”Pissed On Another Planet” on the flip are equally great while maybe not as instant. Yay! (Martin)

  
V/A - JUKEBOX MAMBO DBL LP (Jazzman Records)

Rhythm & blues infused by latin and rumba flavour. Not bad if I may say so! Had a couple of the cuts on here but most of them are new to me and the ones I did have are put into a new context making them even better. Great compilation and it comes with a great, hefty booklet explaining and contextualizing the whole latin r&b movement. Think Jungle Exotica or the Lavender Jungle taking on regular rhythm & blues and the result would maybe be something like this. Do the rumba! (Thomas)

Sunday December 1 11 2011 14:00
Review:

VERNON SÉLAVY - Apple Seeds 7” EP
Shit Music For Shit People

Here’s a new band from Italy featuring one guy from the Moviestar Junkies and one guy from Ten Dogs (with whom I’m not familiar). To me they fit perfectly into the latest wave of Italian (and maybe a bit French too) bands that come out of the garage scene but have a more rootsy sound like the Mojomatics and Capputtini’i’lignu. Two other duos and when I think about it Vernon Sélavy would sit very comforatable in the middle of those two. This 7” consist of three very well-written songs with a really nice sound. They don’t duo hardcore so the sound is like it would be a whole band playing. The last song ”The Way It Goes” hit me the most. It’s got a nice soulful Reigning Sound vibe to it with a chorus I’ll be humming along to pretty soon. Personally I’d think it would  be wonderful if these two guys would do something like this in italian. (Martin)

Sunday December 1 11 2011 14:00
Review:

MAN OR ASTROMAN? - Your Weight On The Moon CD
Overground

I was a fan of Man Or Astroman? when they first came along (never had this LP though). This LP first came out in 1994, a long time ago now, and it was their first mini-LP (the cd consists of that LP and two 7” EPs that came out around the same time.) I had their Estrus LPs that came before (I think?!) this.  To all you young Savage readers I need to say that in those days unlike now there were a lot of surf/instrumental bands. Every city with self respect had a least one and Man Or Astroman? were  top of the line if not thee best out there. Listening to this now you can understand why. They had a much more fierce aproach and kind of a punk spirt but still played with precision. I think they had both surf, rock’n’roll and punkrock fans. And how does this hold up today? It’s not bad but I don’t really see when I would listen to this. To me who was there i think if feels a bit dated. I think reissues come way too fast these days. The one song I really like is a cover of ”Destination Venus”  but I think I’m  through with surfmusic. Who knows though, maybe this reissue will start a brand new instrumental wave. (Martin)

Sunday September 1 11 2011 14:00
Review:

JACUZZI BOYS - Glazin' LP
Hardly Art

Wow, really longed for this record. I really can't get enough of the Jacuzzi Boys - love their sound and feel. And wanna go to Florida from the first tone (spent some summer vacations there as a kid). Especially the titletrack conveys an immediate presence of the hot Miami sun. Really digging the new LP and it really feels like an album a little more than "Fruits" did I am however finding it a little, just a little too tame. There's a few grinding numbers like "Glazin'" and "Silver Sphere" but a few songs could have used a bit more pummel and swagger. Great record though and I suggest you get it straight away, it won't disappoint! (Thomas)

Sunday August 1 14 2011 11:00
Review:

POP. 1280 - The Grid 12"
Sacred Bones Records

Feels like I'm back listening to AmRep bands but this is a little more punky and raw than I remember them being. Spotted these guys mostly because I love the novel they got their name from, liked their first single but this is even cooler. Loud, edgy, cool vocals. Almos industrial in it's execution. Sounds dangerous. I love the titlesong but the rest isn't far behind. On the same label as Human Eye, Timmy's Organism etc. (Thomas)

Thursday August 1 11 2011 23:00
Review:

THE ZIPHS - Thinking About You 7"
DELIVERANCE BROTHERS - Stab You In The Back 7"
Radio Obligato Records

Debuts all around! The Ziphs finally get a record out after having stuff in the pipeline for a few years. Think King Khan & BBQ Show meets  postpunk maybe. They've been one of my fave bands outta Stockholm for the last few years. This single should really put them on the map, great songs and sound. The Deliverance Brothers consists of Kalle and Jocke from the Manikins but showing off their love for bands like the Reigning Sound and Goodnight Loving. Well done, catchy songs, a tad too clean sounding (isn't Reigning Sound best when they sound raw?) but definitely a must for fans of especially Goodnight Loving. Both of these are on the cool Radio Obligato label, nice black sleeve with sticker, limited to 300 copies.(Thomas)

Thursday August 1 11 2011 22:00
Review:

DM BOB & THE DEFICITS - They Called Us Country LP
Off Label Records

A look back and collection of unreleased songs from their repertoire circa ´99-´02, deemed "too country" at the time. This really is a country-record, but with that New Orleans-Cajun twist. Covers of Lee Hazlewood, Lou Reed, Buck Owens and of course some traditionals mixed in with the orginals (the follow up to "Hooker Bones" aptly titled "Hooker Bones 2", among others).

Actually it comes out a little too country for my tastes too, I think some of their more cajun-y or garage stuff would have made this great record. A sweet look back at a very underrated band, and a reminder to pick up their amazing recs on Crypt and then come back for this when you need more. (Thomas)

Sunday November 1 7 2010 21:00
Review:

OBLIVIANS / ANDRE ETHIER split 7"
Scion/Vice

Never in a million years did I think I'd review a new Oblivians song.. But here it is. And it's great. Of course it is.. It's hard to not have their "old" stuff in mind and judge this on it's own merits because I think this would have been even better without having to measure up to songs like "If Mother Knew" or "Guitar Shop Asshole" or "The Leather" but.. Fuck! It's a new Oblivians song and it's freaking awesome! It's a dark Greg Oblivian-sung pounder. And it really is awesome to hear some new Oblivians stuff, even though it's weird. Truly one of the most awe-inspiring bands of all time! Andre is of course the Andre from the great Deadly Snakes. His solo stuff has taken a Dylan-esqe turn and follows suit here. It's good but not amazing. (Thomas)

Sunday November 1 7 2010 20:00
Review:

ELECTRIC BUNNIES - Pretty Joanna 7"
Sacred Bones

Pretty damn great dreamy noise with a hard beat and cool songs. Especially "Pretty Joanna", Stoogey but with a hook and screaming guitars and a hard driving beat. Can't seem to get enough of it.. Really liked the LP but this is cementing even more that they're onto something really cool. (Thomas)

Monday September 1 6 2010 11:00
Review:

TY SEGALL - Melted LP
Goner Records

I just can't believe how prolific Ty is! Record after record is just pumped out and not one seems like filler. Here's a follow up to last years debut on Goner and it's great again. A bit moodier, slower and not as "blown out" as previously. Great songs. I loved the "Caesar" and "My Sunshine" singles and it's kinda nice to have them on here too. "Melted" is leaning a little more the Oh Sees way with some added instruments (played by John Dwyer among others) and groove. It fits Ty nice. Would have liked a few more all out rockers but this is a great album anyways. (Thomas)

Wednesday August 1 25 2010 13:00

Review:

THEE OH SEES - Warm Slime 12"
In The Red Records

Like a funky Headcoats or a garagey James Brown the Oh Sees groove is pretty damn intoxicating. Their knack for writing songs, their "own" sound, their diy attitude will surely propel them a bith further up the charts and it's all this that make them so special too. This 12" has one loooong song on the A-side, it's groovy as hell and I do like them when they get in the groove, so to speak, but maybe it works better live than on record. They make up for it with the six excellent songs on the B-side though. Groovy, funky, whatever you wanna call them, they're really good. (Thomas)

Wednesday August 1 11 2010 19:00

REVIEW:

HOZAC HOOKUP KLUB YEAR 2 - the first batch

Sex Church - 209 7"
Super Wild Horses - Enigma 7"
Radar Eyes - Shakes 7"

Hozac Records

Sex Church is a band that I never really checked out but always meant to. So this is really my first real listen to 'em. It's pretty dark, brooding and a little bit psychedelic, and Stoogey. Could've maybe been a bit wilder in my opinion, it's pretty slow. Pretty cool but maybe not as great as it could've been in my ears. For a cooler band that does the same sorta thing check out Flight instead.

Everybody seems to rave about the Super Wild Horses. A two-girl band from Melbourne. Just guitar and drums is usually my thing but this becomes a bit tedious when the guitar is pretty monotonic and boring. I'll give them another chance to win me over..

Radar Eyes are pretty hard to define. Punkrock but with a touch of pop and nice-ness. Think Hex Dispensers and the Marked Men maybe.. But slower. Think this will grow on me even more. Not as immediate as the aforementioned bands. Might be missing in personality, for lack of a better word. B-side is a bit too "nice" and slick but otherwise pretty cool. I'll be checking out more of their stuff. (Thomas)

Wednesday July 1 28 2010 12:00
 REVIEW:

BLACK TIME - More songs about motorcycles and death 12"
Wrench Records
BLACK TIME / TY SEGALL split 12"
Telephone Explosion

Rumored to be the last Black Time record, the aptly titles "More songs about motorcycles and death" mini LP is perhaps Black Times finest moment. It's an awesome romp down a highway lined with their greatest influences and achievements. Merging KBD punk, Black Flag hc, Pussy Galore noise, Gun Club/Scientists drone into a mix all your own is a feat not many band have managed and definitely not many European bands. This records is a testament to how great Black Time is.

Never got around to reviewing their split with Ty Segall but since it's back in print again it seemed appropriate. Black Time is snottier than ever and sounding a bit more British too I think. Noisy and punky and really great. Really Pussy Galore-y at times. Not a bad thing. Ty's side is him being himself, great of course. Some songs have ended up on other records too but this is prolly different versions and lo-fi. And great!

Sunday July 1 11 2010 17:00

Review:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY - Shampoo 7"
Sub Pop

Took a little bit of a pass on Happy Birthday when it didn't win me over like King Tuff did.. But after falling in love with the b-side on here, "Alien" I've gotta give their album another shot. It's a glorious little summerditty that is just too cute and catchy to not fall for. "Shampoo" is no pass over either and should fill many a dancefloor.  But oh, "Alien" is just way too great to miss out on.
(Thomas)

Thursday June 1 17 2010 01:00
REVIEW:

SHANNON & THE CLAMS - I Wanna Go Home LP
1-2-3-4-Go! Records

Shannon is prolly best know for her work in Hunx & his Punx but this, in her own glory with a great band is at times awesome! Caught them live before listening to this and that was great. The records has some downs like the more hardcore moments which could work (like it does really well for the King Khan & BBQ Show) but mostly brings me out of the nice, sunny feeling that I'm having while listening to the rest of the record. The first side is pretty magnificent while the B-side starts out with, in my mind, three duds. I'm pretty sure that stuff works out better live though. When this is great it's great.. Shannon can sing like a goddess! And the slower more r'n'b-y songs really showcase her voice and fit it really well.
(Thomas)

Sunday June 1 13 2010 13:00
REVIEW:

OVERNIGHT LOWS - City of Rotten Eyes LP
Goner Records

This fits perfectly on Goner. And seems to have been somehow forgotten, which is a shame. This is a spirited continuation of a lot of stuff going on in the 90's and early 00's. Taking some Oblivians, some Rip Off Records, some Persuaders, Reatards.. but never copying. Just picking the parts. The whole sounds different than the aforementioned though, punkier than the Oblivians and weirder than anything on Rip Off. This record is pretty fucking great actually. I've missed this kinda on the spot, furious, take on punkrock. It's a short 12 song on 45 rpm, but it's sweet as fuck. A breath of fresh air!!
(Thomas)

Sunday June 1 13 2010 13:00
REVIEW:

SAINTS & SINNERS VOL 1-2 LP
Sheik Records

Cool comps of sheiking rockabill and rhythm & blues from the 50's and 60's. Nice packaging, oriental style fitting the funny labelname.
A lof of unknowns for me, mostly the rockabilly guys, but also some famous ones like Trini Lopez, Lightning Hopkins, Elmore James, Little Walter.Liners for each song with some background etc is a nice touch too.The linernotes are touting some of the songs with superlatives and while I'm not sure this is some of the best-ever-songs, there's a good amount of fantastic stuff and overall, which makes these comps nice, is the mix and set up. They make for some really great listening. And if you wanna party, there's a fair amount of dancers on here too. Mostly stompers though, but who the heck doesn't like a stomper?!
(Thomas)

Friday June 1 11 2010 12:00
REVIEW:

ELECTRIC BUNNIES - Through the Magical Door LP
Florida's Dying

Pretty cool record from a cool band on a cool label. Nice packaging too. I'm at a loss for how to describe their music though.. Very moody, a lot of improv going on I would thing, a lot of building up an ambience. Like it more when they play their songs straight up, but I guess the weirdness also adds some mystery and magic to the mix and therefore the title is really fitting. I'd say this would be as much for fans of say the Black Lips and Jacuzzi Boys as it would be for fans of noise and indie-weirdness.
(Thomas)

http://www.myspace.com/electricbunnies
http://www.floridasdying.com

Tuesday June 1 8 2010 12:00
REVIEW:

GOODNIGHT LOVING - Arcobaleno 12"
Wild Honey Records

This is a nice little record in-between records from the Goodnight Loving, a band I've learned to love more and more. I fell for their latest fullenght, and this is a cool continuation from that. A little more laidback, folky maybe. Great sounding, by way of the steady hands of Mojomatt. The GL have that great epic songwriting capability that captures my imagionation and takes it along for a ride. The pictures and feelings they paint adds so much to the songs. This is slod out but the label is considering a repress. Let's hope it's out there soon.
(Thomas)

Thursday June 1 3 2010 10:00
REVIEW:

DAVILA 666 12"
Rob's House Records

New 12" from the world's greatest partyband at the moment! Great sound, dirty and lo-fi in a great way. As always the songs are topnotch. They're pretty much a different band than the one on the ITR LP but I'd say they're all the better for it. They're a fullfledged, massive bulldozer of a liveband where all their songs mesh together in a perfect mass. Look forward to seeing them if you haven't. And love their records meanwhile. (Thomas)

Friday April 1 30 2010 20:00
REVIEW:

BOX ELDERS - Tiny Sioux 7"
Hozac singles club

I love the Box Elders and it's about time they had something new out, my LP is getting worn down. You've prolly heard the titletrack live for a while and it's an amazing little ditty in their patented Box Elders-way. B-side is equally laid back, nice and cool. Perfect for summernights. (Thomas)

Monday February 1 1 2010 12:00

Reviews - February 2010

Back after the winterbreak with some must-haves! Read more >>

Wednesday December 1 2 2009 01:00

REVIEWS - DECEMBER '09

A day late and a few dollars short - here are the December reviews! Quite the mix..
Read more >>

Wednesday November 1 11 2009 01:00

REVIEWS - NOVEMBER 2009

I'm not even gonna apologize for this delay - just read on.. Ty Segall, Reigning Sound, Box Elders.. so much great stuff!! Read more >>

Wednesday October 1 7 2009 14:00

Reviews - October 2009

This thing about posting reviews the first day of the month seems impossible..sorry! Here's a big batch for the 7th day of the month though. Enjoy! Read more >>

Tuesday June 1 2 2009 13:00

Reviews - June 2009

Still playing ketchup so you'll have to take some pretty old stuff for a little while longer. Reviews of Apache, Black Time, Henry Fiat's Open Sore, some cool comps and more.
Read more >>

Tuesday May 1 5 2009 23:00

Reviews - May 2009

A few days late because of internet failure but crammed loads of releases in there instead. Enjoy!
Bongo Joe, Brainbombs, Weakends, Ty Segall, Jeffrey Novak and some Algerian rock and roll. Read more >>

Thursday April 1 2 2009 14:00

REVIEWS - APRIL 2009

Got some nice new stuff from the Jacuzzi Boys, thee Oh Sees, Strange Boys and some new bands releasing outstanding singels like the Woven Bones and Personal & the Pizzas.

Read more here >>

Tuesday March 1 3 2009 02:00

REVIEWS - MARCH 2009

Got a few new albums and a couple of singles reviewed for March.. Marked Men, Jacuzzi Boys, Hunches, Black Lips and more. Read more >>

Monday February 1 9 2009 15:00

REVIEWS - FEBRUARY 2009

Yes, back on track again and my february 9th resolution is to have the reviews up the first of the month again starting march 1st.

This month sees reviews of records from the amazing Jacuzzi Boys, Ty Segall, the Figures of Light, some old and rare surf,  new garagerock and more.. Read more >>

Wednesday November 1 5 2008 13:00

Reviews November 2008

A new batch of stuff.. so much left and more coming all the time! But I love it. Manikins, Jack of Heart, Quintron, Digital Leather, Lover! etc Read more >>

Thursday October 1 2 2008 23:00

REVIEWS October 2008

So many Ken Rock releases..can't review..them..all..smothering..me...gasp! And a Goodnight Loving LP that's real good. Read more >>

Tuesday September 1 2 2008 14:00

REVIEWS SEPTEMBER 2008

A few days late, not to mention the month that passed by too fast.. Still catching up..a shitload of Live Fast Die releases reviewed, new Mojomatics LP, Twistin' Rumble 5 and 6 and some more great shit. Along with the newest teen-sensation. Read more >>

Tuesday July 1 1 2008 22:00

REVIEWS JULY 2008

Well that had some time coming.. Sorry about that. Will be back on track from now on. Enjoy some old stuff finally getting reviewed and some newer stuff too. Lost Sounds, Cheap Time, Blowtops, Dirtbombs, Guinea Worms, Hex Dispensers, Manikins and loads more.  [Full story..]

Thursday January 1 31 2008 23:00

REVIEWS FEBRUARY 2008

Black Lips, old blues, the love for the Cosmic Psychos, Jay Reatard's Terror Visions and more.. [Full story..]

Upcoming shows:

BUCK BILOXI
BLACK ABBA
TRAMPOLINE TEAM
BABY'S BLOOD
18 August @ Vieille Montagne

SPRAY PAINT
THE REBEL
LION'S DEN
19 August @ Human Audio

DEMON'S CLAWS
GESTURES
THE LEEROYS
24 August @ Vieille Montagne

HEAVY LIDS
BENNI
30 August @ Human Audio

SLEEPING BEAUTIES
SLUG BAIT
ISOTOPE SOAP
4 September @ Vieille Montagne

UROCHROMES
RAS
GESTURES
29 September @ Vielle Montagne

TIMMY'S ORGANISM
13 October @ Human Audio

Forum

The new Savage Forum is online, check it out now!